About Us

The Department of Plant Science and Crop Protection is one of the oldest Departments in the University of Nairobi and originally started as two departments, Department of Crop Production and Department of Applied Science in the Faculty of Agriculture in 1970/71 within the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences (CAVS) in the Upper Kabete Campus. The two departments were later re-organized and merged and renamed the Department of Crop Science. In 1997, the Department of Crop Science was split into two departments namely, Department of Crop Science and Department of Crop Protection.  In 2005, the two departments were merged to form the Department of Plant Science and Crop Protection. After the merger, the department was re-organized into two sections; namely Crop Science and Crop Protection.